Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Combined Degree and
Physician Scholar Programs

2012 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2012 "Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Abramson Cancer Center clinical/translational research prize – Nataniel Lester-Coll
Title: A Decision Analysis of Contralateral Prophylactic Mastectomy in Women Undergoing Treatment for Sporadic Unilateral Breast Cancer

Abramson Cancer Center basic research prize – Arun Padmanabhan
Title: Zebrafish neurofibromatosis type 1 genes have redundant functions in tumorigenesis and embryonic development

Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize – Maria Ciocca
Title: Asymmetric Proteasome Segregation as a Mechanism for Unequal Partitioning of the Transcription Factor T-bet during T Lymphocyte Division

Celso-Ramon Gracia Award for Outstanding Women’s Health Research – Christopher Morse
Title: Performance of human chorionic gonadotropin curves in women at risk for ectopic pregnancy: exceptions to the rules

Clinical Epidemiology Research Prize – Sydney Brown
Title: The Epidemiology of Intensive Care Unit Readmissions in the United States

Creskoff Prize – Eugene Khandros
Title: Integrated protein quality control pathways degrade free αglobin in β-thalassemia

David B. P. Goodman Award – Kristin Galetta
Title: Visual Pathway Axonal Loss in Benign Multiple Sclerosis: A Longitudinal Study

Department of Neurosurgery Award – Joaquin De Rojas
Title: Electroencephalographic changes following direct current deep brain stimulation of auditory cortex: A new model for investigating neuromodulation

Edward Raffensperger Research Prize – Rebecca Hartman
Title: Optimizing Adjuvant Treatment Decisions for Stage T2 Rectal Cancer Based on Mesorectal Node Size: A Decision Analysis

Endocrine Award – Kashif Jafri
Title: The Anti-Oxidative Capacity of High-Density Lipoprotein Is Reduced In Acute Coronary Syndrome But Not In Stable Coronary Artery Disease

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize – Andrew Edmondson
Title: Mining the LIPG Allelic Spectrum Reveals the Contribution of Rare and Common Regulatory Variants to HDL Cholesterol

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Michael Kelly-Sell
Title:  The histone deacetylase inhibitor, romidepsin, suppresses cellular immune functions of cutaneous T cell lymphoma patients

John G. Clark Prize – Jacob Lazarus
Title: Dynein Tethers and Stabilizes Dynamic Microtubule Plus-Ends

John Pryor Award for Trauma Research – Ron Golan
Title:  Terrorist Explosions Involving Buses: On-Board Explosions versus Explosions Occurring Adjacent to a Bus

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Joy Wan
Title: Comparative Effectiveness of Commonly Used Systemic Treatments or Phototherapy for Moderate to Severe Plaque Psoriasis in the Clinical Practice Setting

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Dan Hashimoto
Title:  Intraoperative resident education for robotic laparoscopic gastric banding surgery: A pilot study on the safety of stepwise education

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Jarrod Predina
Title:  Neoadjuvant in situ gene-mediated cytotoxic immunotherapy improves postoperative outcomes in novel syngeneic esophageal carcinoma models

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH, Health Policy Research Prize – Michael Sargen
Title: Gaps in the Supply of Physicians, Advance Practice Nurses, and Physician Assistants

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Scott Gordon
Title: The Transcription Factors T-bet and Eomes Control Key Checkpoints of Natural Killer Cell Maturation

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Amar Majmundar
Title: O2 Regulates Skeletal Muscle ProgenitorDifferentiation throughPhosphatidylinositol 3-Kinase/AKT Signaling

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Varsha Jain
Title: Rapid magnetic resonance measurement of global cerebral metabolic rate of oxygen consumption in humans during rest and hypercapnia

Morton McCutcheon Memorial Prize – Alison Schram
Title:  A germline JAK2 SNP is associated with predisposition to the development of JAK2V617F-positive myeloproliferative neoplasms

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Colette Shen
Title: Decreased cell adhesion promotes angiogenesis in a Pyk2-dependent manner

Orthopaedic Research Prize – R. Carter Clement
Title: The Total Ankle Arthroplasty Learning Curve with New-Generation Implants: A Single Surgeon’s Experience

The Peterman-Arnold Medical Student Award for Endocrinology Research – Marcus Goncalves
Title: Activin receptor type IIB (ActRIIB) inhibition alters muscle metabolism and total energy expenditure in mice

Pulmonary Resesarch Prize – Ricki Carroll
Title: Motivations of Patients with Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension to Participate in Randomized Clinical Trials

Renal Research Prize – Rachel Yang
Title: Tertiary Hyperparathyroidism In Kidney Transplant Recipients: Characteristics of Patients Selected for Different Treatment Strategies

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Robert Bonacci
Title: Impact of cigarette smoking on rates and clinical prognosis of pulmonary tuberculosis in Southern Mexico

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Karen Ocwieja
Title: HIV integration targeting: a pathway involving Transportin-­3 and the nuclear pore protein RanBP2

Robert M. Toll Prize – Katherine Knapp
Title: Examining Reasons for Not Presenting for Trachomatis Trichiasis Surgery

Robert M. Toll Prize – Elisabeth Tracey
Title: Optimizing reliability and sensitivity of Semmes–Weinstein monofilaments for establishing point tactile thresholds

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Sam Crayton
Title: pH-Titratable Superparamagnetic Iron Oxide for Improved Nanoparticle Accumulation in Acidic Tumor Microenvironments

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – David Schoppy
Title: Oncogenic stress sensitizes murine cancers to hypomorphic suppression of ATR

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Kevan Salimian
Title: Feedback Control in Sensing Chromosome Biorientation by the Aurora B Kinase

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Brittany Weber
Title: A critical role for TCF-1 in T-lineage specification and differentiation

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Natalie Wolkow
Title: Ferroxidase Hephaestin’s Cell- Autonomous Role in the Retinal Pigment Epithelium

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Armen Moughamian
Title: Dynactin Is Required for Transport Initiation from the Distal Axon

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – Stephanie Cross
Title: Dimethyl Fumarate, an Immune Modulator and Inducer of the Antioxidant Response, Suppresses HIV Replication and Macrophage-Mediated Neurotoxicity: A Novel Candidate for HIV Neuroprotection