Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Combined Degree and
Physician Scholar Programs

2014 Research Paper Prize Competition

Recipients of the 2014 "Medical Student Research Paper Prizes"

Abramson Cancer Center clinical/translational research prize – Megan Fracol
Title: Response to HER-2 Pulsed DC1 Vaccines is Predicted by Both HER-2 and Estrogen Receptor Expression in DCIS

Abramson Cancer Center basic research prize – Jessica Shay
Title: Inhibition of hypoxia-inducible factors limits tumor progression in a mouse model of colorectal cancer

Balduin Lucke Memorial Prize – Sean Spencer
Title: Adaptation of Innate Lymphoid Cells to a Micronutrient Deficiency Promotes Type 2 Barrier Immunity

Celso-Ramon Gracia Award for Outstanding Women’s Health Research – Kenji Taylor
Title: Improving utilization of and retention in PMTCT services: Can behavioral economics help?

Clinical Epidemiology Research Prize – Elizabeth Goodman
Title: Impact of Weekend Admission on Hospital Length of Stay and Rate of Organ Failure in Pediatric Leukemia Patients at Free-Standing U.S. Children’s Hospitals

Creskoff Prize – Chris Thom
Title: Trim58 degrades dynein and regulates terminal erythropoiesis

David B. P. Goodman Award – Sunny Haft
Title: Anticholinergic Use is a Major Risk Factor for Laryngitis

Edward Raffensperger Research Prize – Mark Attiah
Title: Durability of Roux-en-Y gastric bypass surgery: a meta-regression study

Emergency Medicine Prize – Charlotte Lawson
Title: “No Other Choice”: Reasons for Emergency Department Utilization Among Urban Adults with Acute Asthma

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize –  Shaan Khurshid
Title: Incidence and Predictors of Right Ventricular Pacing-Induced Cardiomyopathy

George W. Householder, III Memorial Prize –  David Rawnsley
Title: The Transcription Factor Atonal homolog 8 Regulates Gata4 and Friend of Gata-2 during Vertebrate Development

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Casey McQuade
Title:  A multi-functional nanoplatform for imaging, radiotherapy, and the prediction of therapeutic response

ITMAT Prize for Clinical/Translational Research – Daniel Larach
Title: A targeted sequencing approach in subjects with extremely high HDL-C identifies individuals homozygous for potentially causal mutations in 9 genes

John G. Clark Prize – Sydney Shaffer
Title: Turbo FISH: A Method for Rapid Single Molecule RNA FISH

John Pryor Award for Trauma Research – Grace Lin
Title:  Activation of beta 1 but not beta 3 integrin increases cell traction forces

John R. Stanley Research Prize for Dermatology – Melody Ju
Title: A Novel Approach to Detecting Melanoma-Derived Circulating Tumor Cells

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Elizabeth Sonnenberg
Title:  Wind, Water Wound, Walk – Does the Data Deliver the Dictum?

Jonathan Rhoads Prize for Surgical Scholarship – Jon Quatromoni
Title:  Adenoviral Based Immunotherapy Provides Local Disease Control in an Orthotopic Murine Model of Esophageal Cancer

Leonard Davis Institute’s William L. Kissick, MD, DrPH, Health Policy Research Prize – Andrew Fisher
Title: Why Insurance Coverage Fails To Close The Access Gap To Artificial Reproductive Technology

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Lisa Korn
Title: Conventional CD4+ T cells regulate IL-22-producing intestinal innate lymphoid cells

Mary Ellis Bell Prize – Rena Zheng
Title: Function of GATA factors in the adult mouse liver

Marc Levine Radiology Research Award – Stuart Kinsella
Title: Traumatic Shoulder Dislocation Among Adolescents: HIll-Sachs Lesion Volume and Recurrent Instability

Neurosurgery Research Prize – Ari Wes
Title: An evaluation of complications, revisions, and long-term aesthetic outcomes in nonsyndromic metopic craniosynostosis

O.H. Perry Pepper Prize – Catherine Auriemma
Title: An Epidemiologic Study of Decision-Making by Medical Intensivists

Orthopaedic Research Prize – Michael Milone
Title: Converting Between High- and Low- Sensitivity C-Reactive Protein in the Assessment of Periprosthetic Joint Infection

Pediatric Research Prize – Paul Shay
Title: A Comparative Cost Analysis of Cleft Lip Adhesion and Naso-alveolar Molding Prior to Formal Cleft Lip Repair

Pediatric Research Prize –  Douglas Worrall
Title: Mean Corpuscular Hemoglobin Concentration: The Strongest Predictor of Femoral Head Osteonecrosis in Children with Sickle Cell Disease

Pulmonary Research Prize – Katherine Clark
Title:  Angina Pectoris or Myocardial Infarctions, Pulmonary Arteriovenous Malformations, Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia, and Paradoxical Emboli

Renal Research Prize – Yan Yan
Title: Outcomes of Percutaneous Interventions in Transposed Hemodialysis Fistulas Compared with Nontransposed Fistulas and Grafts

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Yang Li
Title: Immune history shapes specificity of pandemic H1N1 influenza antibody responses

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Nick Parrish
Title: Phenotypic properties of transmitted founder HIV-1

Richard K. Root Prize for Infectious Disease Research – Steven Siegel
Title: Influenza promotes pneumococcal growth during co-infection by providing host sialylated substrates as a nutrient source

Robert M. Toll Prize – Brandon Shulman
Title: Sleep Disturbance Following Fracture is Related to Emotional Well Being Rather than Functional Result

Robert M. Toll Prize – Tapan Patel
Title: Single neuron NMDA receptor phenotype influences neuronal rewiring and re-integration following traumatic injury

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Daniel Abravanel
Title: Notch Promotes Recurrence of Dormant Tumour Cells Following HER2/neu Targeted Therapy

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Penny Fang
Title: Comparative Toxicity and Dosimetric Profile of Proton Versus Intensity-Modulated Radiation Therapy for Treatment of Prostate Cancer

Rose Meadow Levinson Memorial Prize – Ting Yang
Title: Mutual reinforcement between telomere capping and canonical Wnt pathway activity in the intestinal stem cell niche

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Chuka Didigu
Title: Simultaneous zinc-finger nuclease editing of the HIV coreceptors ccr5 and cxcr4 protects CD41 T cells from HIV-1 infection

Dr. Roy G. Williams Award – Rohan Joshi
Title: The Zeta Isoform of Diacylglycerol Kinase Plays a Predominant Role in Regulatory T cell Development and TCR-mediated Ras Signaling

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Alexander Pleet
Title: Comparison of legally blind patients to sighted patients in an African American population with primary open-angle glaucoma

Stuart L. Fine Ophthalmology Medical Student Research Prize – Ayan Chatterjee
Title: Lovastatin Regulates SPARC Expression in Human Trabecular Meshwork Cells

Dr. William F. Jeffers Prize – David Combs
Title: Tuning voltage-gated channel activity and cellular excitability with a sphingomyelinase